America's Cup Team Canada Blog

America's Cup History

America's Cup Since 1851

The America's Cup is more than a sailing race; it's a legendary competition dating back to 1851, making it the oldest international competition in any sport. The New York Yacht Club held the cup for an impressive 132 years, defending it against 24 consecutive challenges. The current Defender is Emirates Team New Zealand, representing the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron. The 37th America's Cup will take place in Barcelona, Spain in October 2024, with Alinghi Red Bull Racing, Luna Rossa Prada Pirelli, American Magic New York Yacht Club, and K-Challenge as the potential Challengers. Throughout its history, the America's Cup has witnessed remarkable advancements in boat design, culminating in the high-tech America's Cup 75 class yachts capable of speeds nearing 100 km/h. The pursuit of perfection continues, attracting top sailors, designers, entrepreneurs, and sponsors worldwide, promising even greater excitement and awe in the future.

America - 1851

A £100 Cup wager was made for a race around the Isle of Wight between the New York Yacht Club and the Royal Yacht Squadron. The yacht, America, won the race and the trophy was named after her.

The J Class - 1930

The J Class are historic and iconic yachts raced in the America’s Cup between 1930 and 1937. Known for their long waterlines and towering masts, these yachts reached impressive speeds and original or replicas are still enjoy great racing today.

The Introduction of 12 Metre Yachts - 1958

The first 12 Metre yacht, Columbia, was used in the America's Cup in 1958, marking the introduction of the 12 Metre class. It remained the class of yacht used until 1987.

A Winning Streak Broken - 1983

In 1983, the America's Cup was won by the yacht Australia II. It was a historic victory as it marked the first time that the United States’ 132-year winning streak in the America's Cup was broken in a thrilling seven-race series. The victory of Australia II was attributed to its innovative winged keel design, which provided improved speed and maneuverability.

Oh Canada! - 1987

While Canada had previously sent challengers to the America's Cup--in 1876 and 1881--the country's next challenge wouldn't come until a century later. In 1983, Canada 1, under the leadership of skipper Terry McLaughlin, advanced to the semi-finals of the Louis Vuitton Cup. Then, in 1987, the yacht Canada 2 was a challenger in that year's Louis Vuitton. While Canada didn't secure victory, these moments marked significant milestone for Canadian sailing.

A New Class - 1992

The International America’s Cup Class was introduced in 1992. One hundred boats were built and they were used by defenders and challengers until 2007. Though not identical, these yachts were designed according to the same formula, providing designers with the flexibility to explore different ideas while ensuring the boats remain comparable for real-time racing.

Catamarans Revolutionize the Race - 2013

In 2013, the America’s Cup made a significant transition as it embraced foiling catamarans for its 34th edition. The decision to switch was driven by Oracle Team USA, the defending champions led by Larry Ellison, to introduce a thrilling and faster racing experience, aiming to captivate a wider audience.

The Beauty of Bermuda - 2017

The 2017 America’s Cup held in Bermuda showcased the AC50 class of foiling catamarans, which lifted out of the water and reached incredible speeds. Emirates Team New Zealand emerged as the winner, demonstrating the thrilling nature of the event and the stunning beauty of Bermuda’s coastline.

The Future is Foiling - 2024

Since 2021, the AC75 foiling monohull has been featured in America’s Cup competition. combination of technological innovation, high-speed excitement, and competitive challenge, making it a coveted experience for sailors and a captivating spectacle for spectators.